/ BIG-EU
+

Hall of Fame

In memory of their contributions to the development and application of the BACnet standard, we honor our friends and idols.

Mike Newman, the founding father of the BACnet protocol and honorary member of the BIG-EU, died on March 4th, 2020. Mike’s initiative and efforts to standardize a data communication protocol for building automation will never be forgotten. Mike successfully built a bridge, linking Europe and North America and was always a faithful pioneer and companion of our association. With tremendous personal engagement he was one of the main contributors for our founding meeting and gave his backing to countless meetings, Plugfests, BACnet Forums and exhibitions.


Mike will be remembered by all of us as the sympathetic open-minded protagonist of our ideal for jointly developed, open communication in building automation. Mike helped and established communication, not only between HVAC products, but also between people.

William O. Swan, also known as Bill Swan or "BACnet Bill", was active in the BIG-EU from 2003. He passed away on June 4th, 2011 – shortly after his personal contribution to our Plugfest in Saarbrücken and our BACnet Forum in London.


Because of his outstanding technical skills and his dedicated manner in proclaiming the BACnet standard, Bill was made an honorary member in 2005 and included in the Advisory Board. His election as Vice President followed in 2007. From 2004 to 2008 he was also chairman of the American BACnet standards body SSPC 135 of ASHRAE.

/ BIG-EU
+

Hall of Fame

Im Andenken an ihre Verdienste um die Entwicklung und Anwendung des BACnet-Standards ehren wir unsere Freunde und Vorbilder.

Mike Newman, der Gründungsvater des BACnet-Protokolls und Ehrenmitglied der BIG-EU, verstarb am 4. März 2020. Mikes Vorstoß und seine Anstrengungen, ein Datenkommunikationsprotokoll für die Gebäudeautomatisierung zu standardisieren, werden wir nie vergessen. Mike baute erfolgreich eine Brücke zwischen Europa und Nordamerika und war stets ein treuer Vordenker und Wegbegleiter unserer Vereinigung. Mit enormem persönlichem Engagement war er einer der Hauptbeteiligten an unserer Gründungsversammlung und unterstützte unzählige Meetings, Plugfests, BACnet-Foren und Ausstellungen.


Mike wird uns allen als der sympathische, aufgeschlossene Protagonist unseres Ideals einer gemeinsam entwickelten, offenen Kommunikation in der Gebäudeautomation in Erinnerung bleiben. Er unterstützte und schaffte eine offene Kommunikation nicht nur zwischen HLK-Produkten, sondern auch zwischen den Menschen.

William O. Swan, auch bekannt als Bill Swan oder "BACnet Bill", war seit 2003 in der BIG-EU aktiv. Er verstarb am 4. Juni 2011 - kurz nach seinem persönlichen Einsatz für unser Plugfest in Saarbrücken und unser BACnet-Forum in London.


Aufgrund seiner herausragenden technischen Fähigkeiten und seiner engagierten Art, den BACnet-Standard zu proklamieren, wurde Bill 2005 zum Ehrenmitglied ernannt und in den Beirat aufgenommen. Seine Wahl zum Vizepräsidenten folgte 2007. Von 2004 bis 2008 war er zudem Vorsitzender des amerikanischen BACnet-Standardkomitees SSPC 135 der ASHRAE.